Digvesh Rathi Gets Slammed with a Fine for 'Notebook' Celebration After Priyansh Arya's Wicket

New Delhi (The Uttam Hindu): In a shocking twist during the IPL 2025, Lucknow Super Giants spinner Digvesh Singh Rathi found himself in serious trouble after his controversial "notebook" celebration following a wicket. The 25-year-old's over-the-top gesture towards Punjab Kings' batsman Priyansh Arya has landed him in hot water with the BCCI.
What Went Down: Punishment and Fine
The BCCI didn’t take too kindly to Rathi’s antics. As a result, the bowler has been slapped with a fine of 25% of his match fee and a demerit point added to his record. Rathi was found guilty of violating the IPL’s code of conduct under Level 1 of Article 2.5, which covers unsporting behaviour. The IPL match referee's decision is final, and Rathi is left to face the consequences of his actions.
The ‘Notebook’ Celebration That Got Him In Trouble
Rathi's infamous "notebook" celebration occurred after he took the wicket of Priyansh Arya. He mocked Arya by mimicking the "notebook" gesture, which was deemed disrespectful and childish by many. This taunting move didn’t sit well with the IPL authorities, and they wasted no time in disciplining the bowler for his unsporting behaviour on the field.
Match Recap: Punjab Kings vs. Lucknow Super Giants
Despite Rathi’s decent bowling performance—taking 2 wickets for 30 runs in his 4-over spell—Lucknow couldn’t seal the deal. Punjab Kings ran riot with a comfortable 8-wicket win. Batting first, Lucknow posted a total of 171/7 in their 20 overs. Punjab chased down the target in just 16.2 overs with ease, thanks to stellar knocks from Prabhsimran (69 runs), Shreyas Iyer (52), and Nehal Wadhera (43).
With the win, Punjab Kings bagged their second victory of the season, while Lucknow Super Giants now have to deal with the aftermath of both their defeat and Rathi’s unforced error.
